A couple of weeks ago Honey from Insight Creative and I made the trip to Adelaide to attend the Daisy and Ray Get Hitched Event. The event is a little like a wedding fair, but way, way cooler. No table skirts attached with velcro, no plastic chairs with white covers, no organza bows. Instead we were treated to creative, unique and beautiful styling in a very hip setting. We got to meet and view the work of Adelaide’s best-of-the-best wedding vendors. And we had a blast!

The event is a little bit like the Make Believe Wedding that we do here in Townsville, but with a few big differences! Guests are invited to attend the event as if it were a real wedding. There’s live music, food and drinks, and instead of just one ‘theme’ for the event, there were several tables set up in different styles – so much to inspire the bride-to-be!

Here are a few of my fav pics from the event. If you’d like to see more – check out the Get Hitched Event Facebook site.

Gorgeous stationery by Akimbo below…

The table setting in the next pic was one of my favourites from the night – love the winter vibe, use of wood/timber, crochet placemats (cuteness!), and table number wrapped with wool…

Below is another favourite – I love the colours, the texture, the flowers, the candlelight…… just beautiful!

The very, very cool swing band The Various Nefarious below. If I had been a bride-to-be I would have booked them immediately for my wedding! In fact, if I’d had the spare cash I would have paid them to just walk around behind me while we toured Adelaide – they were that good!

And I have to tell you, I love, love, loved Adelaide. It is so beautiful. They have Autumn there (unlike here in Townsville). And maple trees. And gorgeous old buildings. And several incredible houses that I have already renovated in my head. I think I’m ready to move there!!

The event was put together by the talented Emily and Alanna from White Room Events - I have long admired their work, so it was amazing to get the chance to meet them. We had brunch with them and Alicia from Akimbo the following day. Thank you so much lovely ladies, for being so welcoming!

All in all, it was a wonderful trip and I returned home feeling really inspired. Can’t wait to see what they come up with for their next event!

Karen

